California Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of California Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.

California has three options available for non-public education with varying requirements. The Private Homeschool and Private School Satellite options have the same requirements and are summarized together, below.

Private Homeschool and Private School Satellite

California requires a fair amount of documentation for operating a private homeschool or a private school satellite. It’s actually surprisingly accessible.

Can I Teach?

There is no state requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. California requires annual notifications. You must submit an affidavit to the Superintendent of Public Instruction each year between October 1st and October 15th.

The affidavit is available on the California Department of Education’s website here.

You must keep records of your child’s attendance during the school year.

Instruction must be in English, and you must maintain the following:

  • Immunization records
  • Courses being taught
  • A list of instructors including addresses and qualifications

Additionally, you must teach California’s core subjects by grade level including:

  • Grades K-6: English, Math, Social Studies, Science, Visual and Performing Arts,
    Health, and Physical Education.
  • Grades 7-12: English, Social Studies, Foreign Language, Physical Education, Science, Math, Visual and Performing Arts, Applied Arts, Career Education, and Driver’s Education.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

There is no requirement for the number of school days or hours. California’s public school year is 180 days, so it would be a good idea to stay close to that number for your homeschool and keep attendance.

Private Tutor

California has minimal requirements for using a private tutor.

Can I Teach?

Your tutor must be a certified teacher for your child’s grade level.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

No. But I would strongly recommend notifying your local school district and maintaining all the records kept for the Private Homeschool and Private School Satellite options.

You don’t want to waste valuable time and sanity for dealing with truancy officers.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

The tutor must instruct your child at least three hours per day between the hours of 8AM and 4PM for 175 days each school year.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In California, this range is 6 to 18 (if your child turns 6 by September 1).

Public School Sports

The California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) does not allow homeschool students to enroll and participate in sports per Article 301.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of California Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment