Indiana Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Indiana Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Indiana requires notification of your intent to homeschool and that you keep attendance.

Can I Teach?

There is no state requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. You should submit a written notification to your local school to inform them your child will receive instruction at home.

Indiana has an optional online enrollment form that you may fill out, if you need more paperwork in your life.


You must keep an attendance log for your homeschool.

You aren’t required to submit the attendance, but the Secretary of Education may request it.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

Indiana recommends teaching 180 days in a school year.

There’s no specific requirement for the number of instruction hours per day.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Indiana, your child must be enrolled the school year after they turn 7 years old until they turn 18 years old.

Public School Sports

The Indiana High School Athletics Association (IHSAA) allows homeschoolers to participate in extracurricular activities.

Specific procedures might vary, so contact your local school or school district to find out their specific rules.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Indiana Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment