Nebraska Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Nebraska Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Nebraska has fairly extensive requirements for homeschool including annual notifications, required subjects, and minimum instruction hours.

Can I Teach?

There is no formal requirement for you to meet in order to teach. However, you must affirm in your exemption form (more below) that you are capable of teaching Nebraska’s core subjects.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. Nebraska requires you to submit two annual exemption forms. The online form can be found here. If you want to submit a paper form, you can find that here.

Form A

  • Submitted when you start homeschooling and by July 15th of each subsequent year
  • Initial submission must include your child’s birth certificate, a curriculum summary, and a partial school and/or dual enrollment explanation (if applicable)
  • Must be signed by both parents (if applicable)

Form B

  • Completed by the parent who will run the homeschool program and submit paperwork
  • Include the beginning and end dates of your school year
  • Include the names of the “instructional monitors” responsible for teaching
  • Include a summary of the curriculum including a list of courses, instructors, and grade levels

Required Subjects

Nebraska requires you to teach the following core subjects:

  • Language Arts
  • Math
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Health

Immunization Records

If you are not homeschooling due to a religious reason (noted on Form A), you must follow Nebraska’s immunization requirements.

While you aren’t required to submit copies of immunization records, keep them in the event the state or your school district inquires about them.

For more information on Nebraska’s immunization requirements, contact the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

Nebraska requires that you provide minimum instruction hours each year.

  • Kindergarten – Grade 8: 1,032 hours
  • Grade 9 – Grade 12: 1,080 hours

I strongly recommend keeping attendance records just in case your school district requests them.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Nebraska, your child must be enrolled for the school year if they turn 6 years old on or before December 31.

They must remain enrolled until they are 18, unless you submit Form C to receive an exemption for an ungraduated 16 year old or Form D if your child graduates before they turn 18.

Public School Sports

The Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA) allows homeschool students to participate in public school extracurricular activities, as long as they meet academic eligibility requirements.

Contact your local school for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Nebraska Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment