Missouri Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Missouri Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Missouri has requirements for documentation, core subjects, and minimum hours of instruction.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

No. There is not a notification requirement, however it is recommended that you inform your local school district in writing of your intent to homeschool so your child isn’t marked absent.


Missouri requires you to maintain documentation as evidence your child is receiving regular instruction. This includes:

  • A plan book, diary, or other written record indicating subjects taught and activities engaged in
  • A portfolio of samples of your child’s academic work
  • A record of evaluations of your child’s academic progress
  • Other written or credible evidence equivalent to the documents above

Required Subjects

Part of Missouri’s instruction time requirement (more below) refers to specific core subjects that must be taught:

  • Reading
  • Language Arts
  • Math
  • Social Studies
  • Science

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

Missouri requires that you teach at least 1,000 hours per year between July 1st and June 30th.

  • At least 600 hours must teach the core subjects listed above
  • At least 400 of the 600 hours must be at the “regular homeschool location” (most likely your house)

I strongly recommend keeping attendance, just in case it’s needed in the future.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Missouri, your child must be enrolled from 7 to 17 years old, or until they graduate.

Public School Sports

The Missouri State High School Activities Association (MSHSAA) may allow your homeschooler to participate, however there may be a required limited enrollment in a public school.

Missouri also has homeschool associations that participate in extracurricular activities. I’d recommend contacting MSHSAA or your local school for more information on what their requirements may be.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Missouri Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment