Hawaii Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Hawaii Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Hawaii requires notification of your intent to homeschool and standardized testing.

Can I Teach?

There is no state requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. Hawaii requires you to submit either an Exceptions to Compulsory Education (Form 4140) or a signed letter of intent to the public school in your neighborhood.

The letter of intent must include:

  • Name of your child
  • Home address
  • Telephone number
  • Birth date and grade level of your child
  • Signature of the parent and date of signature

You may begin your homeschool program as soon as one of these notifications is submitted.

Standardized Testing

Your child will have to take a nationally recognized standardized test in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10.


There is no specific curriculum requirement in Hawaii, except that it must be:

“…structured and based on educational objectives as well as the needs of the child, be cumulative and sequential, provide a range of up-to-date knowledge and needed skills, and take into account the interests, needs and abilities of the child.”

The Hawaii State Department of Education has standards and benchmarks to be met here.

Your local principal can request records regarding your curriculum, child’s progress, or standardized tests, so maintain these records!

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

There is no requirement for the number of school days or hours. However, remember you need to show your child’s progress with their portfolio and standardized tests.

Hawaii’s public school year is 180 days, so it would be a good idea to stay close to that number for your homeschool and keep attendance.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Hawaii, your child must be enrolled if they turn 5 years old on or before July 31st of that school year. They are no longer required to go to school if they turn 18 before January 1st of the school year.

Public School Sports

The Hawaii High School Athletic Association (HHSAA) and Hawaii state law don’t specify if homeschoolers are allowed to participate in their activities.

Contact your local school or school district to find out if your child can participate in extracurricular activities.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Hawaii Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment