Ohio Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Ohio Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Ohio has several requirements including instructor qualifications, notification, required subjects, assessments, and minimum instruction time.

Can I Teach?

You must possess a high school diploma, GED, or standardized test scores demonstrating high school equivalence in order to teach your child.

If you don’t meet this requirement, you must be supervised by someone with a college degree.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. You must submit an annual notification to your local superintendent no later than the first week of instruction at the public school your child would normally attend. The Ohio Department of Education has a Home Education Notification Form that includes the following:

  • Your qualifications (diploma, GED, standardized test scores)
  • Confirmation that you will provide 900 hours of instruction in the required subjects (below)
  • A brief outline of the curriculum for the school year
  • A list of textbooks, courses, commercial curricula, or other teaching materials you will use
  • Your signature

After your first year homeschooling, your notification must include the results of the prior year’s assessment (see below).

Required Subjects

You must teach Ohio’s core subjects as follows:

  • Language
  • Reading
  • Spelling
  • Writing
  • Geography
  • US History
  • Ohio History
  • National, State, and Local Government
  • Math
  • Science
  • Health
  • Physical Education
  • Fine Arts including Music
  • First Aid, Safety, and Fire Prevention

Assessment Requirement

Ohio requires an annual assessment of your child’s progress. There are a few options that are accepted, and you can submit them with your annual notification:

  • Results of a certified standardized test
  • A written narrative from a certified teacher or another person mutually approved by you and the superintendent who has reviewed your child’s portfolio
  • An alternative assessment agreed to by you and the superintendent

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

You must provide at least 900 hours of instruction each year.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Ohio, your child must attend school if they are 6 years old on or before the first day of school in their school district until they are 18 years old.

Public School Sports

The Ohio High School Athletics Association allows homeschoolers to participate in its activities, as long as they meet eligibility requirements. Contact your local school for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Ohio Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment