Louisiana Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Louisiana Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Louisiana has requirements to notify the state and for documentation to show your homeschool is high quality.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. You must submit an online application form no later than 15 days after starting your homeschool.

You must submit a renewal application by October 1 of each following year, or when your child is advancing to the next grade.

You should send a copy to your local school so your child isn’t marked absent.

Application Information

Below is a summary of the information needed for the application.

Student Information
  • Name
  • Grade Level
  • Date of Birth
Family Contact Information
  • Parent/Guardian Name
  • Phone Number
  • Email Address (Optional)
  • Physical and Mailing Addresses
  • School District
Previous School Information
  • Name and Type of School Previously Attended
  • School Address
  • School Phone Number
  • School District

If your child is 11 or older, you need to select one of three options about their immunization status for meningococcal disease.

  1. Proof of Immunization
  2. Not immunized for religious or personal reasons
  3. Physician statement that your child should not be immunized for health reasons
Assurance Statement

Statement that you are the parent, the information on the application is true and correct, and you’ve read and agree with their requirements.


Birth Certificate

You need to upload a certified copy of your child’s birth certificate.

Renewal Application Records

When you renew your homeschool, you have to prove you’re giving your child a good education. There are three ways that you can prove it:

Option 1: Curriculum Packet

This packet may include copies of documents such as:

  • Outline of subjects taught
  • List of books and materials used
  • A statement from a 3rd party (who can be a friend or relative) observing your child’s progress
  • A sampling of your child’s work
  • A report card and/or copies of standardized tests
Option 2: Standardized Test Scores

You may submit standardized test scores showing your child scored at or above their grade level.

Option 3: Teacher Statement

You can provide a statement from a certified teacher (at your child’s grade level) saying that in their professional opinion, your child is progressing adequately.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

You must teach 180 days per year.

I strongly recommend keeping attendance to ensure you’re meeting this requirement.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Louisiana, your child must be enrolled if they turn 5 years old by September 30th of the school year until their 18th birthday, or when they graduate high school.

Public School Sports

The Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) allows homeschoolers to participate in extracurricular activities.

Homeschool students must obtain approval from the high school principal or other governing authority in order to participate.

Contact your local school district for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Louisiana Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment