Maine Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Maine Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Maine has several requirements including notifying your local superintendent’s office, teaching required subjects, and annual progress assessments.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. Maine requires annual notifications. Your initial notification must be provided to the superintendent’s office and your local school within 10 days of starting your home instruction. The Department of Education provides an online form. You will need to include information such as:

  • Your name, signature, and address
  • The name and age of your child
  • The date your home instruction will begin
  • A statement of assurance that you will meet the requirements for days of instruction and subjects taught (see below)
  • A statement of assurance that your homeschool will include an annual progress assessment (see below)

You must submit a renewal application by September 1 of each following year with a copy of your annual progress assessment (see below).

Required Subjects

You must provide at least 175 days of instruction per year in the following subjects:

  • English and Language Arts
  • Math
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Physical Education
  • Health Education
  • Library Skills
  • Fine Arts
  • Between grades 6 and 12: Maine studies, at least once
  • Between grades 7 and 12: Computer skills, at least once

Annual Progress Assessment

The following are options for documents that can be submitted as annual progress assessments:

  • A standardized achievement test recognized in Maine
  • A standardized achievement test developed by local school officials
  • A review and acceptance of your child’s progress by a licensed teacher in the state of Maine
  • A review and acceptance of your child’s progress based on a presentation of a portfolio to a local area homeschooling group whose membership includes a licensed teacher in the state of Maine
  • A review and acceptance of your child’s progress by a local advisory board

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

You must teach 175 days per year.

I strongly recommend keeping attendance to ensure you’re meeting this requirement.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Maine, your child must be enrolled from 6 to 17 years old. Your child may be excused if they graduate high school, are attending college full time, or if they meet certain requirements and get approval to be excused from attendance.

Public School Sports

The Maine Principal’s Association (MPA) allows homeschoolers to participate in extracurricular activities.

Contact your local school district for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Maine Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment