New Hampshire Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of New Hampshire Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


New Hampshire has requirements for homeschooling including an initial notification, a portfolio, annual testing, and required subjects.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. New Hampshire requires you to submit a Notification of Commencement of a Home Education Program to either the Commissioner of the Department of Education, your Resident District Superintendent, or the principal of a nonpublic school within 5 days of starting to homeschool.

If your child is currently enrolled in public school, you need to notify the school that you’re withdrawing so your child isn’t marked absent.

Also, when your child completes high school, you must submit a Notification of Completion of a Home Education Program to the Department of Education.

Portfolio Requirement

You must maintain a portfolio of your child’s work for two years which includes:

  • Reading materials used
  • Writing samples
  • Worksheets
  • Workbooks
  • Creative materials from your child
  • Annual assessment results (more below)

Annual Assessment Requirement

Your child must complete one of the following types of annual assessments each year:

  • Teacher evaluation of your child’s portfolio
  • A national student Achievement test
  • A state student assessment used by your local school district
  • Another measurement agreed to between you and the entity to which you submitted the Notification of Commencement of a Home Education Program

Required Subjects

New Hampshire requires you to teach the following core subjects:

  • Science
  • Math
  • Language
  • Government
  • History
  • Health
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Spelling
  • New Hampshire and US Constitutional History
  • Art/Music

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

New Hampshire does not have a requirement for the number of school days or hours. For your reference, New Hampshire’s public school year is 180 days.

I strongly recommend keeping attendance records, even though they shouldn’t be required by the state or your school district.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In New Hampshire, if your child is 6 years old on or before September 30th of the current school year they must be enrolled. They must be enrolled until they are 18 years old or have graduated.

Public School Sports

The New Hampshire Interscholastic Athletic Association (NHIAA) allows homeschool students to participate in public school extracurricular activities, as long as they meet academic eligibility requirements.

Contact your local school for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of New Hampshire Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment