North Dakota Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of North Dakota Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


North Dakota has several requirements including instructor qualifications, notification, standardized testing, required subjects, and immunizations.

Can I Teach?

You must possess a high school diploma or equivalent in order to teach your child. If you don’t meet this requirement, or if your child scores below the 50th percentile on their standardized test, your local school must provide a certified teacher to monitor your instruction.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. You must submit a Statement of Intent to your local superintendent at least 14 days prior to starting your homeschool program.

You must submit the form each following year and include a copy of your child’s immunization records and proof of identity.

Below are additional requirements. You should keep records of the standardized test scores, the courses taught, and prepare progress reports for potential review by the school district

Standardized Testing

North Dakota requires your child to complete either the NDSA standardized test or another nationally normed standardized test in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10.

You must submit the results of this test to the superintendent.

Required Subjects

You must teach North Dakota’s core subjects as follows:

Elementary and Middle School
  • English Language Arts
    • Reading
    • Composition
    • Creative Writing
    • Grammar
    • Spelling
  • Math
  • Social Studies
    • US Constitution
    • US History
    • Geography
    • Government
  • Science
  • Physical Education
  • Health
Grades 4 and 8
  • North Dakota Studies
    • Geography
    • History
    • Agriculture
High School
  • English Language Arts
    • Literature
    • Composition
    • Speech
  • Math
  • Science
    • Biology and Chemistry or
    • Physical Science
  • Social Studies
    • US History
    • Civics
    • Economics
    • Personal Finance
  • Physical Education
  • Foreign Languages
  • Fine Arts
  • Career and Technical Education

Immunization Records

North Dakota requires you to submit immunization records with the annual Statement of Intent (discussed above). Details about North Dakota’s immunization schedule can be found at the North Dakota Department of Health website.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

You must provide at least 175 days of instruction each year consisting of at least 4 hours of instruction per day.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In North Dakota, your child must attend school between the ages of 7 and 16 years old, unless they have completed high school.

Public School Sports

The North Dakota High School Activities Association allows homeschoolers to participate in its activities, as long as they meet eligibility requirements. Contact your local school for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of North Dakota Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment