Oklahoma Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Oklahoma Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Oklahoma has basically no requirements for your homeschool. There are some recommendations from the Oklahoma State Department of Education, however.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

No. Oklahoma doesn’t require a notification by law, but the Department of Education does recommend you provide a written notification to your local principal so your child isn’t marked absent.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

There is no specific requirement, however the Department of Education recommends that you provide at least 6 hours of instruction per day for 180 days.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Oklahoma, your child must attend school from ages 5 through 18 years old.

Public School Sports

The Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association does not allow for homeschool students to participate in their sports and activities.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Oklahoma Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment