Oregon Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Oregon Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Oregon has requirements for notification and assessments.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. You must submit an initial notification within 10 days of beginning your homeschool to your local Educational Service District (ESD).

The way to notify your ESD may vary, so you’ll want to check with them for more information. The Oregon Department of Education provides a list of ESDs and their websites.

Assessment Requirement

Oregon requires you to test your child by August 15th in the years they complete grades 3, 5, 8, and 10.

Tests must be administered by a non-relative who is qualified according to the Department of Education, such as a certified teacher.

Currently approved tests are:

  • Comprehensive Tests of Basic Skills
  • McGraw-Hill Tests Grade level 3-8 aligned with common core 3rd edition
  • Iowa Tests of Basic Skills
  • Stanford 9th and 10th Editions

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

Oregon does not specify a number of days or hours for instruction.

For your reference, public schools must meet the following instruction hour requirements by grade level:

  • Kindergarten: 450 hours half day; 900 hours full day
  • Grades 1-8: 900 hours
  • Grades 9-11: 990 hours
  • Grade 12: 966

I assume 12th grade is fewer hours to allow for kids to start some community college courses.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Oregon, your child must attend school from ages 6 to 18 or until they graduate.

Public School Sports

The Oregon School Activities Association allows homeschoolers to participate in its activities, as long as they meet eligibility requirements.

This includes annual testing or a portfolio of work to demonstrate satisfactory academic progress.

Contact your local school for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Oregon Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment