Rhode Island Homeschool Laws

Below is a summary of Rhode Island Homeschool Laws to help you ensure your homeschool is compliant.

Note: The information below is not to be considered legal advice. I’m a homeschool mom with an interest in helping you, not a lawyer. I strongly recommend that you contact your state education department if you have questions specific to your circumstances.


Rhode Island homeschool requirements include an initial notification and approval process, required subjects, documentation requirements, and minimum instruction times.

Can I Teach?

There is no requirement for you to meet in order to teach, except that you are able to provide “thorough and efficient” instruction.

Basically, don’t be lazy and neglect your child. If you’re here reading this, you’re probably going to meet the requirement.

Do I Have to Notify the State?

Yes. You must notify your local school district of your intent to start homeschooling and provide them with a proposed homeschooling program for approval. This process may have additional requirements depending on your school district.

I’d recommend contacting your local school district before you submit your homeschool program to find out what’s needed. Check out this Rhode Island school district directory for contact info.

Required Subjects

You must teach Rhode Island’s core subjects as follows:

All Grades:
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Geography
  • Arithmetic
  • History of the United States and Rhode Island
  • Principles of American Government
  • Health and Physical Education
4th Grade and Up:

All of the above plus History and Government of Rhode Island

High School:

All of the above plus United States and Rhode Island Constitutions

Documentation Requirement

Depending on your school district’s policies, you may need to keep:

  • Attendance records
  • Progress reports
  • Test scores

It’s possible your school district will require you to submit these records for review each year.

How Many Days a Year do I Have to Teach?

You must teach 180 days per year, averaging five and a half hours per day.

I strongly recommend you keep attendance records. It may be a requirement for your school district, and it’s good documentation that you are providing “thorough and efficient” education.

Compulsory Attendance Age

The compulsory attendance age is the age range in which your child must be attending school of some type.

In Rhode Island, your child must attend school if they are 6 years old on or before September 1st until they are 18 years old with a couple exceptions for which you can obtain a waiver from the school district.

  1. They are under 18 years old but have completed high school and been accepted to an accredited college or university.
  2. They are over 16 and the superintendent approves a plan to obtain a high school diploma or its equivalent.

Public School Sports

The Rhode Island Interscholastic League allows homeschoolers to participate in its activities, with some requirements per Article 3, Section 1, Part J:

  1. Your child must be listed on the school’s rolls and certified to the Department of Education as a student.
  2. You must provide academic grades to the school and they must record them quarterly on the official school records.
  3. Your child must not be ineligible for academic or disciplinary reasons
  4. The school must approve your request to allow your child to compete.
  5. All other requirements in the Rules and Regulations must be met, as with any student.

Contact your local school for more information.

Wrapping Up

Hopefully this summary of Rhode Island Homeschool Laws gets you started on your homeschool journey with your family!

If you’re just getting started, you’re probably feeling a bit overwhelmed.

The Home Learning Kit can help!

It’s a package of handy learning tools to make your homeschool more fun and engaging, curated by yours truly. Check it out!

Leave a Comment